I also looked on the web for egg-less recipes so that next time I don't need to get eggs and throughout all of my readings I noticed that it's about 1 cup of flour to 1/2 cups of liquid. So that's the recipe I used tonight. So with the eggs that I was using it was about 2 eggs to get 1/2 cups of liquid (with a pinch of salt).
After mixing is all together and kneading it for a while it looked like this


It was at this point that I made a couple mistakes. At first I was going to make ravioli but after I rolled out the pasta with my pasta machine I started to notice that the dough was getting a little dry. Far to dry of me to make a filling and then still be able to use it. So, note to everyone who wants to make ravioli, make the filling first and the pasta after.
So about half of that ball went into the compost. On top of that, I had put a damp paper towel over top of the rest of the pasta while I worked the ravioli pasta, and it decided that it would stick to the pasta. As I didn't really feel like eating extra fibre pasta I chucked that part as well. So with a little less than half the dough I started again. This time I was doing okay. The pasta was working nicely and I managed to get it nice and thin.
I put it into a plastic bag so it wouldn't dry out too much while I made a quick sauce for it. I just did a simple tomato paste sauce with some basil, thyme, oregano, and parsley. I also tossed in some TVP and veggie mix that Talia had made for lunch today. I'm not 100% sure I know what was in it over than cauliflower and carrot but it tasted good.
Another thing to note is that putting fresh pasta into a bag is not the best idea. I had some trouble separating it in order to boil it and even more in order to try and mix it with the sauce.
I think the pasta was a little soggy but Talia really liked it. I cant wait until I get to try again. I'm gonna make ravioli if it kills me
~(' ')~



No comments:
Post a Comment